The wolf is a member of the order Carnivora; a group of mammals that take their name from the fact that many are specialized meat eaters. Wolves prey mainly on other mammals, ranging from mice to full grown bison, but are rarely strong enough to tackle large prey alone. Instead, an extended family works together as a hunting pack. Using their intelligence and communication skills, the wolves mount a joint attack, then share the spoils between them.

Brown Bear

Bears (Ursidae) have a wide variety of habitats throughout the Northern Hemisphere and partially in the Southern Hemisphere.  They are found in North America, South America, Europe, and Asia.  Common characteristics of Bears are: large bodies with stocky legs, long snouts, small rounded ears, and shaggy hair.  

Kingdom: Animalia

Class: Mammalia


The remaining six species of Bears are omnivorous.  They may be diurnal or nocturnal and have an excellent sense of smell.  Bears use shelters such as caves and logs.  During the winter, they sleep for long periods of time.  Bears have been unfortunately hunted for their meat and fur, and have been used for "Bear baiting" and other forms of entertainment.

Sea turtles travel the ocean most of their life. Once a year, they return to the beach where they were born and lay eggs. There are many species of sea turtles, like the Hacksbill, the Leatherback, and the Green sea turtle. The Leatherback is the biggest by far; it grows up to 8 feet! The other two only grow up to about 5 feet. 

Sea Turtle
Red Eye Frog

Red-eyed tree frogs live only in Central America and are only about three inches long. Like all tree frogs, the Red-eyed tree frog has long hind legs that enable it to leap from branch to branch as it searches for insect prey. It hunts at night, using its big eyes to spot insects in the dim light and scooping them up with its long, sticky tongue.